HoneyMolassesCherrySugarSomethingOrTheOther

Last night, I decided to treat myself to body butter from Carol’s Daughter.*  The name of the product I purchased is SweetHoneyDip ChocolateBrownSugah.  As the name implies, it smells like a hybrid of honey, cocoa and sugar.  My skin feels like a dream, but I have mixed feelings both about the need to name body products after food, as well as my compulsion to purchase such products.
I’m flipping through the channels, and I passed MTV.  A male and female (mother and son actually) were doing sculptures.  As I looked, I said, “That looks like a penis.  I have a filthy mind.”  Lo and behold, they were doing penis sculptures.  I’m not sure how I feel about that.
I discovered that Target sells OPI nail polish.  My insides did the happy dance.
My arms are still tanned from the summer.  OMG, I was SO golden delicious this summer, lol.  However, all that was not exposed to the sun looks anemic – vampiric even.  I plan on being a total beach bunny next summer.  Crazy as it sounds, i think I want to learn how to surf.  Of course, I have to learn how to swim first.  That’s one think that sucks about growing up in a black American city.  For some reason, there is no focus, concern or desire to teach black children how to swim.  I have other opinions on this.  Ask me someday.

I have sworn off fried chicken until after the new year.

The midnight wakeups are beginning to be slightly annoying.  But oh well.  Going to watch Harvey Birdman now.
*I do not believe that body butter is a treat.  Skin care is something that I take very seriously, and I view the “good shit” as a bill.  Take care of yourself and yourself will take care of you!
just b
3 responses to “HoneyMolassesCherrySugarSomethingOrTheOther

  1. Peace Sis,

    Still not sure how I feel about Carol’s Daughter products. Slightly too expensive, methinks. Also not a fan of Jada. I don’t know. Maybe because I assume that she should be acting just slightly more grateful – being from Baltimore and all.

  2. I pick and choose which products I use. I use mostly the styling stuff as opposed to the shampoos, shower gels, blah blah blah. I barely notice the price issue, only because most things I use on my hair are pricey ($25 shampoo – no one said being an afro soul goddess came cheap lol). yes, i try the cheap stuff, and the results range from so-so to disastrous.

    as far as jada, if it’s any consolation, she’s not the owner, just an investor and the first famous face attached to the brand.

  3. You know, I’ve tried the Carol’s Daughter products and, in my opinion, they just aren’t that good. For instance, in the 10+ years I’ve been dealing with unprocessed (natural) hair, I’ve never found a conditioner that works better than Patene Pro-V. The best moisturizer is Baby Love Moisturizing Hair Dress Lotion. Best skin lotion: Burt’s Bees Baby Bee Buttermilk Lotion. Actually, I love the entire Burt’s Bees line because their policy is that you shouldn’t use anything on your skin that you couldn’t eat because what you put on your body soaks into your skin, thus entering the body. Plus it’s not tested on animals, if that’s something that matters to a person. My sensitive lupus skin just can’t tolerate a lot of products but this assortment works for both me and VanGoghGirl.

Discuss Amongst Yahselves!

