Soñar

I am naked.  I am in water.  It’s warm, and I can hear that there are people all around me.  I crouch down, because I don’t want anyone to notice me.  I turn around and notice that not only are the people around me, but they’re waiting for me.  They’re all different ages; some of the faces i know, some I don’t.  An old Indian lady with a kind face motions for me to come toward her.  I don’t want anyone to see me in my state, and I tell her so.  She says, “No one will mind.  They all understand.”  If I don’t come to her, not only will she get wet, but so will the clothes that she has waiting for me.

The walk toward the bank is not painful.  Everyone is looking at me, but they are looking at my eyes.  After I dry off, and dust off sand, the indian lady clothes me in a beautiful sari of red, purple, orange and gold.  She embraces me and says, “You should have come to India sooner.  She’s been waiting for you.”  She turns me around.  A golden woman in a white shift has her back to me.  She has no hair, she’s wearing plenty of bangles, rings and earrings.  She has a small, yet familiar scar just above her left ankle.  She turns and I see my face; older, but still, my face.

She holds up her left hand to show me that it is bare.  She says, “If you spend too long thinking about that, you’ve missed the entire point.”  Children run up to my golden self.  She says, “Your grandchildren are adventurers too.”

I can’t remember how much more happens during this dream.  I’m not even really sure what this dream means, but it does have me thinking, “India.  Why not?”

Artemis

I talke about my father and my children quite a bit, but I rarely talk about my sisters (except when they are driving me up a wall).  I have three sisters:  Artemis (30), Q Diddy (25) and Gemini (23).  We have both always been strong, but where I was water, Artemis was rock.  As children, our differences were our biggest obstacle.  Once she accepted that I would always be water, and I respected that she would always be rock, our relationship became the tightest.  She has seen me at my highest and my lowest, and I’ve never doubted her being in my corner.

When at the worst of my funk, I remember being on the phone with her crying, and she told me, “Ok…so you’re going to do what?  Just quit?  I don’t think so.  Get up and handle your business.”  Since then, every Sunday, she sends me something encouraging to get my week started on the rigth foot.  This morning, I awoke to the following scriptural passage, that i believe anyone can draw from.

Philippians 4:11-13 Not that I am speaking with regard to being in want, for I have learned, in whatever circumstances I am, to be self-sufficient. 12 I know indeed how to be low [on provisions], I know indeed how to have an abundance. In everything and in all circumstances I have learned the secret of both how to be full and how to hunger, both how to have an abundance and how to suffer want. 13 For all things I have the strength by virtue of him who imparts power to me.

I’m hoping that this can encourage someone else as much as it has encouraged me.

just b