Artemis

I talke about my father and my children quite a bit, but I rarely talk about my sisters (except when they are driving me up a wall).  I have three sisters:  Artemis (30), Q Diddy (25) and Gemini (23).  We have both always been strong, but where I was water, Artemis was rock.  As children, our differences were our biggest obstacle.  Once she accepted that I would always be water, and I respected that she would always be rock, our relationship became the tightest.  She has seen me at my highest and my lowest, and I’ve never doubted her being in my corner.

When at the worst of my funk, I remember being on the phone with her crying, and she told me, “Ok…so you’re going to do what?  Just quit?  I don’t think so.  Get up and handle your business.”  Since then, every Sunday, she sends me something encouraging to get my week started on the rigth foot.  This morning, I awoke to the following scriptural passage, that i believe anyone can draw from.

Philippians 4:11-13 Not that I am speaking with regard to being in want, for I have learned, in whatever circumstances I am, to be self-sufficient. 12 I know indeed how to be low [on provisions], I know indeed how to have an abundance. In everything and in all circumstances I have learned the secret of both how to be full and how to hunger, both how to have an abundance and how to suffer want. 13 For all things I have the strength by virtue of him who imparts power to me.

I’m hoping that this can encourage someone else as much as it has encouraged me.

just b

4 responses to “Artemis

  1. Such a vivid dream[re: sonar]! What I really wanna know is how do you go about accepting that you are water, always, and she is rock, always? What does that even look like on the daily?

  2. Artemis is like that with everyone, isn’t she? I mean, that’s how I always see her in my mind. Even when I was “bad association” to a lot of folks, she was as kind as always. When she’d come to the little parties we had at my mom’s house (Remember them?), she always seemed so serene. However, anyone who got to know her at all soon realized that, beyond the calm exterior, that girl was made of steel. She is one of the most sincere people I have ever encountered in my life.

    Do you ever think about how the way that you are played a significant role in how she has developed? When your mom passed away, I know I wasn’t the only one who worried that she might crumble and withdraw from being the sunny person she was before. I think you took the brunt of a lot of the responsibilities and challenges and that saved her from/kept her from having to become water, too.

    The cited passage in the book of Philippians is especially interesting in this particular context. The quality of being flexible and capable of existing and thriving despite ever-changing conditions describes the properties of water in ways that just aren’t as applicable to rock.

    I’m not saying that to denigrate who Artemis is as a person. With regards to rocks, she’s a diamond. However, as brilliant and durable as diamonds are, they do still have an Achilles’ heel. They are extremely brittle. If they are broken, there’s virtually nothing we can do to put the shattered pieces back together again.

    Contrastingly, as ice, water may break under pressure. As a liquid, it can be separated drop by drop and, if you turn up the heat, it may even evaporate into a cloud of steam. Yet, it can always be made whole again. That’s you, my love.

  3. @shug – since you know both of us, you know that my sister was the steady one, and i was sort of the wild child. we wasted a lot of time beefing because one wasn’t like the other. when we accepted that we each had our strengths, and noticed how that strength could serve the other, it helped our relationship immensely. i don’t know that there was one specific turning point. we just grew up. that doesn’t mean that she doesn’t have a wild side, and i can’t be strong and steady, but for the most part, that’s who we are.

    @ bint – you know us even more, and i think i kind of addressed your thoughts as well. you know that i know the strength in water. (you know a new orleanian that doesn’t? ;-P) i think that with she and i, we tend to give one what the other needs. i consider myself very fortunate to count two of the strongest women i have ever met as immediate family members.

    and you, my dear, know me SO well.

  4. Pingback: Healing…Oh Yeah…THAT kind « Wreckless Endangerment

Discuss Amongst Yahselves!

