“It would be so fine to see your face at my door”

Autumn, though my favorite season, has also been my most difficult.  For the last few years, I’ve combated the autumn blues tooth and nail.  Sometimes I’m successful, sometimes not.  This is the time of my birthday.  I should be excited.  The thing is, five days before my 18th birthday, 11/19/94, I lost my mother.  Time flies.  It’s difficult to wrap my mind around the fact that my mother has been gone from me for 14 years.

A couple of years ago, I posted about her here. Whenever I think I’ve recounted every lesson she ever taught me, I remember something new. She was good folks. The best cups of coffee I ever had were the ones I shared with my mother. I loved when we got along, because when we did, it was so, so good. She was just such a great friend.

So this morning on the train, I had my iPod on random, and my mom’s favorite song came on.  And right behind that, another one (the opening and closing videos respectively). These were both songs that she used to sing to us all the time.  I almost didn’t blog about her today.  This year has been rough, and since I’m on the up swing, I didn’t want to make myself sad.  But, the thing about my mom is that however keen the pain of losing her is, the memories really take the edge off.

5 responses to ““It would be so fine to see your face at my door”

  1. Dang it, Dre! I was gonna comment about her mother’s good taste! Instead, I’ll talk about your mom’s good guidance, b/c all bullshit aside, you’re great peoples….and I fucks with you 🙂

Discuss Amongst Yahselves!

