Floating

You guys have no idea how much I really needed this weekend.  Well, maybe some of you do.  It was so good to feel fabulous and fierce, dance all night, and hang out with my friends like a normal person.

Friday, I woke up, sent the kids off to school, then had some time to kill before I went to my hair appointment.  When in doubt, go shoe shopping.  I bought a pair of warm, comfy boots, then headed to Greenbelt.  For those of you in the urrea that don’t know, Cole Stevens is the indisputable TRUTH.  I’m kind of picky about who gets into my mane, and I’ve been testing out salons since I’ve gotten here.  The only one I really liked was a joint in Harlem, but I really don’t have the resources (time, money, patience) to go all the way to New York to get my dome did.  There are a lot of lovely sisters with beautiful naturals, so I figured it would only be a matter of time before I found “home.” Diane came to me by accident, but she was an absolute miracle worker.  Plus I felt quite pampered, and not at all rushed (as sometimes happens in salons that are bad on time management).  I’ll definitely be seeing her again.

From there, I went to undergo the tortuous eyebrow procedure.  Left unchecked, my eyebrows look like caterpillars.  The waxing is tough, but when homegirl pulls out the tweezers, it feels as though she is extracting my very soul through the follicle.  I get the kiddies, then we sojourn to the mall.  Mama needs a new pair of boots.  (Yes, I totally realize that I have already purchased a pair of boots.  Now I need sexy boots for my night out.)

I detour at DSW, and I send the kids on a mission:  “Find mom a pair of boots that will make her look cool.”  Finge pointed out a couple of pairs (a disturbing number of hooker boots, might I add); Ladybug selects the most delicious pair of burgundy suede boots I have ever seen in my life.  “THESE are the ones Mommy!”  And I look at the tag.  Cole Haan.  Marked down to $300.  When I told her I couldn’t get those, she then said, “Ugh, I have bad taste.”  After I and the salesman ensured her that was not the case, she took great pride in bragging to everyone about how she has fashion sense.  I eventually settle on a pair of gorgeous black ankle boots with gold buckles.  I’m done with shopping.

Saturday morning, I woke up bright and early, and pretty much ran all over the place.  Then, PARTY TIME!  I drank so much alcohol, I’m pretty sure it was criminal.  Once I recognized my state, I stopped looking at people.  I’m sort of an ugly dude magnet, and I didn’t want to give any the wrong signal by accident.  I got a chance to hang with good folks, danced to good music, and ate good food.  You really can’t beat that.

I spent the entirety of Sunday recuperating, which is the sign of a good time.  I’m still sort of tired, but I’m also still buzzing, because my 32nd year holds everything, ya know?  I’m excited to see what this year has in store for me, and what I’m going to go about doing to claim it.  A wise person told me that I should be taking myself seriously.  I think I’m gonna listen.

In fact, I know I will.

Discuss Amongst Yahselves!

