Bonne Anne Bitches!

Somewhere around post 93 (when i realized that I was coming upon a milestone post) I thought, “My 100th post is going to be especialGrande!”  With this declaration, I was faced with a conundrum:  What could I give you that was special?  I mean, I’ve pretty much given you guys everything.  I’ve written in the midst of tears, pain and laughter.  I’ve written about love found, love lost and my first visit to the land of fisticuffs.  You know about my battle with hurricanes, my fractured relationship with my father.  I’ve even told you about how I couldn’t bust a nut.  I told you about keeping my na na under wraps.  Let’s face it, you’ve been invited pretty deep down the rabbit hole.  (Oh the puns!)  So now, what?  In honor of my 100th post:

100 Mel Factoids

1.  Snorer

2.  My kids are very good looking

3.  I hate being cold

4.  I love the feeling of the sun on my skin

5.  Cartoon aficionado

6.  I can drink most guys under the table (doesn’t mean I do it on the regular)

7.  Lover of traditions that emphasize love and family

8.  I’m the oldest sister

9.  Though I’m tough, I much prefer my man to be the boss

10.  I do not expect people to read my mind, so I speak it

11.  I never fit in, but I always make my place

12.  I refer to my aura as “The Luscious”

13.  I am a writer

14.  I will be published in 2009

15.  I hate the after party clean up

16.  Quality over quantity is a philosophy that pervades every aspect of my life

17.  Snuggling under a warm blanket with a good book feels like the good life to me

18.  Got more a$$ than the models

19.  Special affection for Shakespeare

20.  Can’t hold a tan

21.  I was 11 before I realized that I was light skinned…ededed

22.  I love the fact that I have chocolate children

23.  Brussel sprouts are teriffic

24.  I have the utmost love and respect for my black brothers

25.  Hates ironing, so I hang my clothes right out the dryer

26.  Watching Star Trek has a soothing power over me

27.  I have a moderate geeky streak

28.  Is a hopeless romantic

29.  I’ve only been in love twice

30.  Both ended on sour note, hence ruining our friendship

31.  I fell out of love with my second love this year.  He unnecessarily played the game raw.  It makes me sad, but it’s a part of life.

32.  Love comes in many forms; sometimes the soul mate we crave isn’t a romantic one

33.  I think about love a lot, because I don’t understand people’s fear of it

34.  Loves guys with “cool”

35.  Hates when people pussyfoot around the issue

36.  Snickers at the word “pussyfoot”

37.  Wants to learn to play the guitar

38.  Loves photography (next hobby perhaps?)

39.  Still breaks out like a teenager

40.  Wants to learn Japanese

41.  Wants to learn French

42.  Wants to re-learn Spanish

43.  Was once moderately conversational in Spanish

44.  Loves that when she gained weight, she got meaty calves (weird huh?)

45.  Loves to see couples in love

46.  I have very few “go out” clothes

47.  Thinks Rhymefest is a vastly underrated emcee

48. Thinks cuddling is the bomb, but obligatory post-coitus cuddling is wack

49.  Thinks Qdoba puts crack in their food

50.  Will shamelessly eat burrito crack all day

51.  I’m kind of a tomboy, but I love wearing skirts

52.  Absolutely loves to see men in blue

53. Thanks her father for making her smart

54.  Thanks her mother for making her compassionate

55.  Thanks God for providing them both to make her balanced

56.  Didn’t have sex until I was 21

57.  Is a quick study

58.  Hooks up a mean pot of collard greens

59.  Believe in treating myself well

60.  Totally over the concept of haters

61.  Has a jealous streak, but keeps it in check

62.  Chuckles at the homoerotic undertones in Looney Toons

63.  Loses her keys regularly

64.  Loves to go dancing

65.  Realizes there is no continuity in how she phrases the revelations in this list

66.  Loves video games

67.  Does not believe in children being seen and not heard

68.  Does believe in children being respectful when they are heard

69.  Believes in paying dues

70.  Loves Dr. Seuss

71.  Thinks negative emotion is a waste of time

72.  Can’t whistle loudly

73.  Thinks flaws add character

74.  Thinks the true nature of people is discovered when times are tough

75.   Once got in trouble for singing “Secret Lovers” in church

76.  Also danced and sang “Whip It” in church

77.  Got beat in church a LOT

78.  Her firstborn son has been an old man all his life

79.  Loves Scrabble

80.  Needs braces

81.  Wonders if Cartoon Network will ever get Woody Woodpecker Cartoons

82.  Has gorgeous soup coolers

83.  Boys like me alot

84.  I have a gift of sensing people’s emotions

85.  Reads voraciously

86.  Has been drinking coffee since she was 10

87.  Thinks that no one has ever captured love and all complexities like James Baldwin

88.  Knows that she had a life before she had children

89. Can scarcely remember what she did with her time before she had them

90.  Believes in the power of prayer and meditation

91.  Is thankful for pain and the lessons it gives

92.  Shamelessly watches Spongebob Squarepants

93.  Does not miss an episode of South Park or Family Guy

94.  I like me

95.  I stay aware of my worth in all aspects:  love, friendship, work, etc

96.  I recognize my flyy

97.  Stays away from negative blog comments

98.  When I was 11, I wanted to be a ninja

99.  Cayenne pepper can go on almost anything

100.  Believes that a good coffee cup makes life worth living

Wow…I didn’t think I would make it to 100!

With that, I wish all of you a blessed and prosperous 2009.  I’m so grateful for each and every one of you that read my musings.  As long as you keep reading, I’ll keep writing.  Actually, even if you stop reading, I’ll keep writing, but isn’t it good to know that you’ll have lots of stuff to catch up on if you ever return?

2 responses to “Bonne Anne Bitches!

  1. Damn if this isn’t the most astute self-analysis in the form of a list that I’ve ever seen! As long as you keep posting, I’ll keep reading. Love you, Breez!

Discuss Amongst Yahselves!

