In a New Orleans State of Mind

I like to think of myself as an elevated type of chick.  But, for those of you who have been with me for a while, you may remember that I have always maintained that a person must keep their pocket of ignorance.  One thing you may or may not know about me is that I embrace my inner hoodrat.  That hoodrat LOVES to shake her ass to some New Orleans bounce music.  Tonight, I was sitting here, and my cousin sent me the video “Pump tha Party” by PNC.  Now, this means nothing to a person who has never been to New Orleans, or listened to our bounce music.  But my people with love for the 504, and especially if they were kicking it in the Crescent City in the 90s, they see that song and I promise you that their first reaction was, “AWWWWWWWWWWW SHIT!”  Their second was to run to their old burned CD (and dare I say cassette tape) collection, and dust off the compilation that holds a simple, one-word title:  “Bounce.”

For those of you that think big girls aren’t active, you’ve never been to Whispers, Whispers 2000, 30something, 7140, Ambrosia, The Loft…I could continue.  There is NO clubbing like New Orleans clubbing.  So now, I present to you “Hood Rat’s Delight.”

Should I have been ashamed to dance to this? Eh, maybe. But one can’t be serious all the time. And for the Friday night workout:

There’s also the endless songs of DJ Jubilee. I don’t care where I am, if this song comes on, I’m shaking my ass:

DEM HOES DON’T LIKE THAT!

This is making me terribly homesick, and I’m thinking that rather than going to Niagara Falls in the Spring, I may be going home, just in time for crawfish season, so I can feed my hoodrat need.

2 responses to “In a New Orleans State of Mind

  1. Breez….you KNOW us Rougies get down to this too! I was in my office dancing in my seat talking ’bout, “Dem Haters don’t like that!” I likes this post!

Discuss Amongst Yahselves!

