“So you found a girl who thinks really deep thoughts…”

“…What’s so amazing about really deep thoughts?”
– Tori Amos

You ever listen to a song a million times, and for some reason, at the million and first listen, you are struck by something?  I was in the mood for some Tori Amos the other day (who is positively splendid, and no one can tell me otherwise) and I listened to “Silent All These Years,” and this gut punched me.

Erykah Badu’s latest release, “Window Seat,” was accompanied by a very controversial video, in which she strips off layers of clothing, while traversing the same route of the Kennedy assassination, then she is assassinated.  She offered explanations, and it incited dialog, but the blogo- and Twitter-spheres were buzzing with hipsters deciphering the meaning behind the video.

I wonder if we haven’t gone too far in believing in our own hype.  Like, we’re so anxious to prove our depth, that we break down something that was an incredibly simple act.  I understand the need to not be silly and vapid, but I don’t want to have to do that much work when I’m being entertained.  Why do so many of us feel the need to be the most vocal and enlightened hipster?

Not every human emotion or action has a deep meaning.  Some things are sitting right there at the surface.  I don’t see anything wrong with having bits and pieces of yourself on your sleeve.  Sure, there is no questioning the value of a certain amount of mystique, but a little transparency is good for bonding with people.  That’s how you make connections.  That’s where we allow the human in us to breathe.

I’m just over the know it all syndrome.  I think we all have the potential to become a little presumptuous with our opinions, making the mistake of believing that they should be heard by all and sundry.  Not everything is for you.  It’s almost 1 am and I’m sleepy, so pardon the ramble, but I’m just so exhuasted with the nonstop “deep thoughts.”

The frustration is that people are being deep about shit that doesn’t in ONE WAY affect this world as a better place; not on a meaningful level anyway. It’s  1 am and I’m sleepy, so pardon the ramble, but I’m just so exhuasted with the endless barrage of really deep thoughts.

What’s so amazing about really deep thoughts?

5 responses to ““So you found a girl who thinks really deep thoughts…”

  1. What’s so amazing about really deep thoughts? In a word…NOTHING.
    Sometimes, people just need to really get over themselves trying to be “so deep.”

    • Bayou, thanks for confirming that this was not an incoherent mass of words. 🙂 I couldn’t let my posting slip again this week, but I’m pretty sure I was beginning to fall asleep when I wrote it. But you hit the nail on the head.

      I’m 33, now, though I’m no Christmas goose, I’m also no spring chicken. (I’ve decided to label myself a summer flamingo…use it if you like.) I’ve decided that I’ve paid enough dues to not be “informed” and “in the know” and “deep” about everything. The number of people with FAR more important things to do, that were handing out dissertations on that video totally blew me, so it was all up in my spirit to post something on it.

  2. This just described why I have a hard time watching many of Spike Lee’s movies. Sometimes I don’t want to have to pay attention like I am sitting in class.

  3. Few things irk me more than some psuedo-intellectual waxing poetic on something in an effort to make himself appear “in the know.” Sometimes things are exactly as they appear. There’s no hidden message, and no…you’re not special. Lol

  4. While watching the video, two things struck me (and neither was particularly insightful). The first was, “Erykah Badu has a big ass.” The second was “I like me a big ass.” If you’re looking for shallow analysis I’d like to see you do better than that.

Discuss Amongst Yahselves!

