Know what you are?

I recently addressed the need for individuals to express how deep they are.  The pretense is just…boring.  I’m not saying that there aren’t artists and people out there thinking and doing deep and meaningful shit, but I really have no interest in having it broken down ad nauseum via the Facebook and Twitter.

That post made me think of the other trend: When did being likable become a undesirable quality?  We all have those moments of breaking bad, going against the grain, and saying the hard things that need to be said.  But when did bucking against certain guidelines of tact and propriety become something to be praised?  There’s an enormous attention seeking movement, and all participants are waving a “Look How Edgy I Am” flag.  Then once the person shows their slip of douchebaggery, they give the Kanye “I’m just being honest” shrug.

Well guess what? There’s a reason our parents taught us to think before we speak; to disagree without being disagreeable; that if you can’t say something nice, it’s best to say nothing.  These were and are valid rules to live buy.  When I go out of my way to say something ugly or cutting, I make myself look bad.  I make myself look angry.  Once again, “hurt people, hurt people” rears it’s ugly head.

Then, my least favorite thing about this mentality is, when you reject humor and speech that are mean spirited and sarcastic, all too often, you’re met with the condescending, “Well, you have to be a certain type of person to get it?”  Oh, I get it.  It’s wack as hell.

I like meeting strange and uncomfortable situations with a bit of biting humor, but I think we should all be cautious not to let that be our go to response, for the sake of balance if nothing else.  I see too many people that celebrate being obnoxious or douchebags or unlikable, and it’s nothing to celebrate.  It makes me not want to be around you.  It makes me not want to talk to you.  And I understand that me not “playing in your sandbox” won’t make or break your world, but I’m pretty sure if I feel that way, I’m not the only one.

A lil introspection ain’t never kill nobody.  *Insert Kanye shrug here*

One response to “Know what you are?

  1. I wouldn’t be in that sandbox either. And why are they always being “honest” when they’re clearly not. I wish I could sell t-shirts that said, “you’re not being honest, you’re just an ass.”

Discuss Amongst Yahselves!

