“And it’s getting more and more absurd”

It’s sad, so sad
It’s a sad, sad situation
And it’s getting more and more absurd
It’s sad, so sad
Why can’t we talk it over
Oh it seems to me
That sorry seems to be the hardest word

-Elton John

Hope is a sweet thing.  It tells us that no matter what happens, we can get it together and go forward.  It tells us that nothing is impassable, impossible, or insurmountable, as long as one has time and patience.  We need this belief for when things seem darkest.

The truth is, there’s a category of shit that really can’t be overcome.  Even with our best efforts of trying to piece things back together as the once were, the fissures and chinks resurface at the most inopportune times, reminding us of that thing we’ve tried hardest to forget and move past.  Sometimes, due to over-handling, or just the strains of time, that thing may break again.  The extremely dedicated collect those shards and carry them throughout life.  Most of us, not some, MOST, carry way more than we should for way longer than we otherwise would, in the name of hope.  Half the time, I don’t even think we know what we’re hoping for.  The best?  The worst?  Deliverance?  Absolution?  That silver lining?

When all is said and done, the most a person can give is sorrow, and sometimes, that shit, however sincere, can mean everything and nothing.  When you’re on the business end of some fucked up shit, it puts you in a strange position, because, you want to forgive, push forward and release.  But there’s that tiny part of you that will wait until heaven splits and drops winged pigs, and restore your faith in a person or situation.

I realize that once you break something, you can be forgiven, you can heal, you can repair, but you can never un-break.  That’s some dry ass bread to choke on folks.  Let me tell you.

4 responses to ““And it’s getting more and more absurd”

  1. Wow…”you can never un-break.” So, so very true. Which is why I came back home. I’m already broken and moving away wasn’t about to fix the huge hole in me. At least here, I have “comrades of war” who understood when I just started crying for no apparent reason. Because, they were crying too.

    • BC, honey that is SO true. I think this totally applies to folks like us in different ways. I think, were I not on my way out the door prior to Katrina, I would have moved back. When I retire, I know for certain that I’m going home.

Discuss Amongst Yahselves!

