Goals, Vision Boards and Horizons

Just keep swimming!

I read O Magazine. Often and religiously.  Oprah and I haven’t always seen eye-to-eye, but her magazine is definitely a winner.  It does a great job of covering topics that affect all women, and I appreciate that.  At the risk of sounding corny, I sometimes feel inspired after I’ve read the Ope’s latest offerings.  There’s nothing wrong with thinking of things that you typically do not.

I’m constantly in this, “What the hell am I going to do with my life” state, yet I’m still in the planning stage.  To call it troublesome is greatly understating.  I haven’t written a poem or short story in ages.  I’ve started my book over about a jillion times, and thanks to my injury, my workout program is stunted.  Before you tell me not to be hard on myself, I truly believe that a healthy dose of, “What the hell are you doing with your life, Melanie?” is in order.  Opportunities have been squandered, and I can’t continue to let that happen.

So, thanks to reading O, I’ve come to the conclusion that a vision board is in order.  Well, right now, I’ve got a box.  Though I hate what “boxes” represent, I’m still collecting things before I decide to put them up on a board, so I think a box is okay as an extremely temporary solution.

Goals. That’s what I need.  Randomly announcing wanting to do this or that isn’t really working.  Fruition.  That’s what it’s all about.  I think I beat myself before I start.  It’s classic and nothing new.  Plus, when I’m feeling slightly set adrift, it’s hard to keep focused on what I need to do to improve.  I’m good at rebooting; but just recovering in the middle of adversity?  Not my strong point.

So yeah…vision board.  Yeah.  I’ll get there.

One response to “Goals, Vision Boards and Horizons

  1. I feel you b/c I find myself in a similar state so often. Last year I began to set some big things into motion. I’ve stuttered and slowed a bit, but we have to just mush on, even if the pace is slow. I gotcha back, Mamba.

Discuss Amongst Yahselves!

