Plugging Along

Sometimes, life’s curve balls have nothing to do with you, but make you think.  For the past few months, I’ve been feeling like I wasn’t doing my life’s work.  I know what you’re thinking, “You’re a writer by night and a secretary by day.”  Despite what some may believe, I enjoyed being a secretary.  I like having good working relationships with people and meeting interesting people along the way.  I was even okay with it paying the bills while I wrote at night.

Now, that isn’t enough.

A few months ago, I began to hate getting up for work in the morning.  I hated doing the same repetitive assignments and answering phone calls.  I hate office politics and passive aggression.  Most of all, I hate being stifled when I have a great idea.  I won’t bore you with the same song I’ve been singing for years about being a writer and things of that nature.  I feel mentally constipated, and I know it’s because I’m not even close to where I want to be.

So a couple of weeks ago, my boss told me that after seven years, she was leaving the firm.  She had a promotion on the horizon which, in the long run, might have been more lucrative, yet, she said eff it.  It was time to embark on new adventures, that could well have been equally lucrative.  Sometimes, we have to take leaps of faith in one way or another.

Being a mom, yes, I have to look before I leap, however, I can do this.  Not just writing, but anything.  I’m in the process of growing and evolving.  Friday, while at lunch with an old friend, we made a pledge that we would have a great accomplishment under our belt by 2012.  Here’s to that.

One response to “Plugging Along

  1. Hey…I feel you. I have a decent job, and I like the money that I make, but I hate not feeling passionate about what I’m doing, and yeah…I’m feeling the itch to make something that I love happen. Many blessings in your journey to attain happiness in your livelihood.

Discuss Amongst Yahselves!

