Bout That Mom Life

My daughter has some of the most beautiful eyes I’ve ever seen.  It’s not just because their slight copper color contrasts with her deep cocoa skin, but because they dance.  She’s animated and lovely and has all the makings of a future heart-breaker.  She suffers from a wealth of issues that I call “pretty girl problems,” because I was in full ugly duckling mode at her age.  She’s a quintessential it girl.

I’ve been single since she was 3 months old, so though bringing her into the world did not have the physical complications that accompanied my first pregnancy, I did have the mental strain of knowing that my marriage was on borrowed time.  She was the most peaceful little thing ever.  She was a smaller replica of her brother, with features just slightly sharper than his larger round ones.  Even her little baby moves were graceful and stately.

She was sort of born a boss.  One of my most hilarious memories of her going to the lake on a spring afternoon, and watching her literally charge through this group of dudes.  They all laughed and parted ways, because she meant business.  My father, who never quite bought into the princess thing with us, is a complete sucker when it comes to “Miss Jae Jae.”   She has this talent for endearing herself to everyone she meets.  Today, on the way to some mommy daughter time, she was performing Janelle Monae’s “Tightrope,” and I realized that she packed more awesome into those few minutes than most people managed to eke out this entire weekend.

I’ve never met anyone so much like me and so vastly different, but one thing is certain: she’s a firecracker.  Where my son is mellow and quiet, she is all pepper.  There’s no suffering in silence for this kid.  Some days, it exhausts me.  But, she’s so amazing.  Though I temper her, I remember how it felt to feel so shut down, so I let her live her life respectfully out  loud.  I let her pick out her own clothes (and afro).  I buy her all the pencils and notebooks her hand can hold.  I don’t know what the future holds for my lovely little dynamo, but she’s already a star.

I love this little girl, who still isn’t too old to wake up in the morning and cuddle with me, because she will not begin her day without it.  She makes me feel like there’s something in this world I’m doing right.

One response to “Bout That Mom Life

  1. Your kids are plenty of evidence that you’re doing a lot right, gal. I would have paid my weight in diet donuts to see her perform Tightrope. Lol

Discuss Amongst Yahselves!

